Web design and wedding flowers in Sydney

26 Mar

Anyong! So what else have I been doing lately? Well since early last year I got so motivated to learn something new and ended up learning HTML, CSS and a lil bit of java. I studied using the site Codecademy because they make it sooo easy to learn! Nowadays there are so many places to take courses online to learn about new things. edX and Coursera are one of websites that provide online courses, or you could just go to MOOC (Massive Open Online Courses) which aggregates different providers of online courses. I mean these websites provide material from the most prestigious universities like Harvard, MIT, Yale, Stanford, etc.. you name it, and for some you can get a certificate too if you complete it. But you do have to have some sort of discipline because course duration can range from e.g. 8 weeks to 16 weeks and you do have assignments and tests to complete. Okay so back to why I was talking about coding. With the knowledge that I gained online last year, I managed to buy a domain and host a website on my own. I created and designed http://sunpetalsflorist.com.au.

Sunpetals Florist Official Website

Sunpetals Florist Official Website

In addition to that, I have learnt how to do wedding flowers and have been helping the founder of Sunpetals Florist, Christine Lee, in Sydney with wedding flowers.

This was the first throw bouquet (bouquet that you throw to the single ladies during the bouquet toss) that I made

This was the first throw bouquet (bouquet that you throw to the single ladies during the bouquet toss) that I made. (Photo courtesy of Derek Bogart Photography)

Throw bouquet

I became friends with the bride and attended her wedding! I managed to catch the throw bouquet that I made! How lucky is that?

I've been trying to come up with new designs and experimenting with flowers too

I’ve been trying to come up with new designs and experimenting with flowers too.

and created this miniature flower arrangement for fun.

and created this miniature flower arrangement for fun.

I partook in a photography session in which we collaborated with some models, photographer,jewelry designer, and hair & makeup artist. Click here for photos and details.

I partook in a photo shoot in which we collaborated with some models, photographer, jewelry designer, and hair & makeup artist. Click here for photos and details.

became a model too.

became a model too.

and a photographer

and a photographer too!!

and finally here are some photos of what Sunpetals Florist has been providing to the brides!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well that’s it for now! Anyong! 🙂

Leave a Reply

